ballot sheet

Fargo Special Election – March 11

The Fargo Public Schools will hold a special election on March 11 for Fargo citizens who live in the Fargo School District in regard to the District’s mill levy, as required by state law. The purpose of the election is to approve the Fargo Public School District’s general mill levy authority for the next ten years, which is a requirement that the 2009 ND State Legislature placed on all districts with general levying authority above the state-mandated cap.

graphic word VOTECurrently, the Fargo Public Schools’ voter-approved general mill levy authority is 170.46 mills, of which 139 mills is actually levied for the 2014-15 school year. This election seeks to cap the general mill levy authority at up to 150 mills.

The March 11, 2014 election ballot language is as follows:

An amendment to section 57-15-14, passed by the 2009 North Dakota Legislative Assembly requires school districts to get approval from their voters by December 31, 2015 to continue any prior voter authorized general fund tax levies which are greater than the current statutory general fund levy limitation. The current Fargo Public Schools District’s general fund levy authority is 170.46 mills. The current statutory general fund levy limitation is seventy mills on the dollar of the taxable valuation of the school district.

Shall Fargo Public School District No. 1 have a general fund mill levy authority of up to one hundred fifty mills effective December 31, 2015 for the following ten years?

A “YES” vote will allow the school district to maintain mill levy authority up to 150 mills for the next ten years.

A “NO” vote will freeze the dollars the school district can collect from local property tax payers at the current level.

Absentee ballots are NOW AVAILABLE. Absentee ballots may be secured online from the North Dakota Secretary of State website at Allow ample time for the ballot request to be processed and the absentee ballot to be mailed out. Once received, the absentee ballot should be completed and then submitted as directed on or before March 10.

Early voting will take place on March 5, 6 and 7 from 10:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. daily at the Doublewood Inn, 3333 13th Avenue South, Fargo.

Election day voting on March 11 will be open from 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. The election is a city-wide election, and therefore citizens may cast their vote at any of the following polling sites:

South Fargo:

  • Clara Barton Elementary, 1417 South 6th Street
  • Lincoln Elementary, 2120 South 9th Street
  • Kennedy Elementary, 4401 South 42nd Street
  • South High School, 1840 South 15th Avenue
  • Atonement Lutheran Church, 4601 South University Drive

North Fargo:

  • Madison Elementary, 1040 North 29th Street
  • McKinley Elementary, 2930 North 8th Street
  • Roosevelt Elementary, 1026 North 10th Street
  • Fargodome, 1800 North University Drive

Visit for more information, including an overview of the Fargo School District’s mill levy history.