District Welcomes Two Assistant Principals To Begin 2013-14

The Fargo Public Schools announces today the assignment of two assistant principal positions to begin the 2013-2014 school year.

Greta Evenson has been named to the position of assistant principal at South High School.  Since coming to the District in 2007, Evenson has been a high school English teacher for grades 10-11 at North and South High Schools. She will replace outgoing Assistant Principal Jennifer Fremstad, who will become the new principal of West Fargo High School on July 1.

Evenson is an alumnus of Concordia College. She began her education career in 2004 as a communications teacher with the Willmar (Minn.) Public Schools, where she also was a basketball coach and yearbook advisor.

In addition to her regular teaching duties, Evenson has served as the summer school principal at South High School and Carl Ben Eielson Middle School since the summer of 2010. She has also served on various school improvement and curriculum committees, and as a basketball coach.

Evenson holds a master’s degree in Educational Leadership from Tri-College University through North Dakota State University.

Sean Safranski has been named to the position of assistant principal at Davies High School. He is currently the principal of both Shanley High School and Sullivan Middle School in the John Paul II Catholic Schools Network in Fargo. Sean will replace outgoing Assistant Principal Marcy Blikre, who is retiring at the end of the school year.

Safranski is an alumnus of the University of North Dakota. He began his education career in 1999 as an 8th grade Earth Sciences teacher for the West Fargo Public Schools. In 2004, he took the position of network admissions director for the Fargo Catholic Schools Network, now the JPII Catholic Schools.

During his time with JPII, Safranski has also served as the network’s curriculum director, and as the school improvement coordinator and as a school improvement committee member.

Safranski holds a master’s degree in Education from North Dakota State University.